Guide Photo -- John Preston

Testimonials/Reviews

MARCH 2018. Nick and Juli make a TERRIFIC TEAM! Before our trip even began, both of them spent plenty of time on the phone explaining the details of what to expect. On the morning we met Nick, he was there super early to secure our spot since we had to drive through a snowstorm coming in from Reno. Nick was super attentive the entire day and always providing tips on how we could improve (casting, reading water, fighting fish, etc.). On a relatively slow day, we ended up getting over 10 fish apiece, with a 20-pounder and 10-pounder in the mix. EPIC TRIP and can’t wait to do it again… thanks Nick and Juli!! ~ Brian and Gil

FEB 2018. Awesome time fishing and staying with Nick and Julie! Had a 20 fish day with three over 10lbs!!! ~Dusty, OR

JAN 2018. Thanks for the great day of fishing! Be back soon! Had a great day on the water, and shout out to Julianne for setting up the trip and lunch! ~Cal and LJ, CA

DEC 2018. My second time out at Pyramid with Nick and Julianne, this time I landed a 12lber, thanks to Nicks instruction! I was well fed thanks to Julianne, awesome food. Can’t wait to get back again next year. Best outfitters on the lake, hands down. They are located right on the lake and have the inside intel. My favorite trip each year! ~Rob, UT

APRIL 2017. Nick and Julianne are INCREDIBLY AWESOME. In the lake and on solid ground, they are 5 stars. Nick is knowledgeable about the lake, fly selection, and his retrieval is perfect. [At one point] I caught 4 fish while I was watching him and copying his retrieval. Everything was perfect and we would stay longer if we had more money. We appreciated all the extra effort. Down to earth people. We will return. ~Steve A., Idaho

APRIL 2017. The dynamic duo, Julianne and Nick. They cover all the basics and then go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, well feed and ready to fish. ~Scott, Idaho

APRIL 2017. Thanks for the great weekend! Fantastic fishing, outstanding hospitality! Couldn’t have asked for anything else. ~Garrett P. , Pennsylvania/Idaho

DEC. 2016. Nick is such a patient guide! I had never fly fished before and he got me on my first fish on a fly rod ever- it was 14 pounds on Pyramid Lake. If he can teach me he can teach anyone. What a great experience I highly recommend him! ~ Bob G., Virginia

JANUARY 21, 2016. Nick did a fantastic job of getting me into 5 huge cutthroats.  He is a pro and their hospitality was at the top.  I had a great time and look forward to going again! ~Nino P

JANUARY 30, 2016. It was an awesome day. My Son Kyle and I have hunted and fished with several guides over the years and our day with Nick was at the top of that list. It was just a great day in every way. Nick is thoughtful, competent and a true professional. Thanks for helping me add to a lifetime of memories with my son. Take care and keep in touch.  ~Mario R. Turpin

MARCH 22, 2016. I participated in a Nick Jackson fishing seminar on Pyramid Lake, NV on March 22, 2016, with three other fishing partners.  It was the first time I have ever done anything like this in all of the years I have been fishing.  While driving over to meet Nick at Sutcliff, my partner and I were skeptical about the seminar and wondering how beneficial it would be.  Once the seminar started, our concerns faded fast.  We spent the morning discussing the appropriate gear, knots, fly fishing techniques, etc., before having lunch.  Once lunch was over, we headed to the lake to apply our newly acquired skills. The four of us landed over 40 fish that afternoon, because of Nick’s fishing acumen.  Nick patiently worked with each of us individually on our techniques.  I was the least experienced fly fisherman there.  I had my own fly rod and did not know how to use it.  Even with this handicap, I was able to hook and land 10 plus (I lost count.) fish with Nicks guidance.  I would highly recommend Nick’s seminar and guide service for Pyramid Lake.  Also, I have been thinking of having Nick give the seminar to my grandsons when they get old enough. ~Al Vazquez

MARCH 2016. I met Nick at a fishing clinic at Pyramid Lake. He was very patient and informative about how to set up the proper rigs for fishing the lake. He also was very attentive and helpful in positioning us and explaining where the fish would hold and their behaviors to expect when we actually did start to fish. Even with 30-40 mile per hour winds that day, he was able to get us onto fish! We had so much fun with him that day, we booked him for 2 days of guiding on our trip to the Green River in Utah! ~Pat H.

MARCH 2016. Just wanted to let anyone considering hiring a guide to fish Pyramid  to definitely give Nick a call. While he maybe one of the newer guides out on Pyramid do not let that detour you. My dad and I had a awesome day out there and while many others around us were getting just a few, we were able to consistently catch them all day long. His adjustments to leader length and knowledge of indicator fishing really made the difference. We are definitely hooked as we already ordered the same fishing ladders Nick has and feel confident that we can gone out on our own and catch fish from what we learned from our trip with Nick.  ~Aaron M.

To read more reviews and about Nick’s guiding style click HERE.

Trip Advisor Reviews HERE